**Broads Authority** 13 May 2016 Agenda Item No 3

## Appointment of Two Co-opted Members to the Broads Authority Report by Chief Executive

Summary:	This report sets out the recommendation from the Navigation Committee on 21 April 2016 relating to the appointment of two co-opted members to the Authority.
Recommendatior	that Mr Michael Whitaker and Ms Nicky Talbot be appointed to the Authority for one year until 19 May 2017.

## 1 Introduction

1.1 The membership of the Broads Authority, as set out in Section 1 of the Broads Act, includes:

"two members appointed by the Authority from those members of its Navigation Committee (established under section 9 of this Act) who are not already members of the Authority."

- 1.1 The Authority at its meeting on 20 March 2015, agreed that the term of appointment of the two co-opted members of the Navigation Committee to the Broads Authority should be on an annual basis. The current appointments expire on 13 May 2016.
- 1.2 In accordance to Schedule 4 Section 4(3)

"The Committee shall elect a chairman from among those of its members who are members of the Authority and may, if it thinks fit, appoint one of its members to be vice-chairman."

1.3 At its meeting on 21 April 2016, the Navigation Committee appointed Mr Michael Whitaker as Chair of the Navigation Committee and Ms Nicky Talbot as Vice-Chair. The Navigation Committee also recommended that Mr Michael Whitaker and Ms Nicky Talbot be appointed as the two co-opted members to the Broads Authority for one year, until 19 May 2017.

Background papers:	Nil
Author:	Regina Green
Date of report:	26 April 2016
Broads Plan Objectives:	None
Appendices:	None