Appointment of Co-opted Members to the Broads Authority Report by Monitoring Officer

Summary:

In accordance with the provisions in the Norfolk and Suffolk Broads Act 1988 (as amended) and the decision of the full Authority dated 23 March 2015, the Committee is invited to recommend two co-opted members to be appointed to the Authority until 13 May 2016.

1 Introduction

1.1 The membership of the Broads Authority, as set out in Section 1 of the Broads Act, includes

"two members appointed by the Authority from those members of its Navigation Committee (established under section 9 of this Act) who are not already members of the Authority."

- 1.2 At its meeting on 26 February 2015, the Navigation Committee
 - accepted the recommendation of the Selection Panel and, in turn, recommended that the Authority appoint James Knight, Michael Whitaker, Nicky Talbot, Brian Wilkins, Linda Aspland, William Dickson, Max Heron and Alan Goodchild as Co-opted members to the Navigation Committee until the Authority's Meeting in March 2019;
 - recommending that Mr Alan Goodchild and Mr Michael Whitaker be appointed to the Broads Authority until 15 May 2015; and
 - recommending that the term of appointment of the two co-opted members to the Broads Authority post 15 May 2015 should be an annual term.
- 1.3 These recommendations were adopted unanimously by the Authority at its meeting on 20 March 2015.
- 2 Appointment of Two Co-opted Members to the Broads Authority as of 15 May 2015 until 13 May 2016.
- 2.1 The two co-opted members of the Navigation Committee appointed to the Authority will cease their term on 15 May 2015. These arrangements were put into place so as to allow the newly constituted Navigation Committee the opportunity to recommend the appointment of two co-opted members to the Authority at the 23 April 2015 Navigation Committee meeting for a term of one year. The Committee has the option of recommending to continue the appointments of the current two co-opted members or indeed to propose

alternative members to be co-opted to the Authority. The Committee's recommendation in this regard is sought.

2.2 Whilst there are members appointed by the Secretary of State who sit on both the Navigation Committee and the Planning Committee, it should be further be noted that, as a matter of custom and practice, one of the two co-opted members appointed to the Authority has, in addition to that appointment, been proposed to be appointed to the Planning Committee by the Authority. When this last took place, it was agreed by the Authority at its meeting on 23 September 2011.

Background papers: None

Author: Piero Ionta
Date of report: 8 April 2015

Broads Plan Objectives: None

Appendices: Appendix 1 – Extract of Minutes from Broads Authority dated

20 March 2015 – Agenda Item No 3(c)

Extract of minutes of the Broads Authority meeting held on 20 March 2015

5/3 Appointments

(d) Appointment of the Navigation Committee and Appointment of Two Interim Co-opted Members of the Broads Authority

The Authority received a report which outlined the process which had been used in making the appointments to the Navigation Committee in accordance with Section 9 of the Norfolk and Suffolk Broads Act 1988, and the need to appoint two co-opted Members from the Navigation Committee to the Authority. The consultee groups, and the Navigation Committee had subsequently been consulted on the recommendations of the selection panel. Having considered the concerns relating to Category D appointments and receiving clarification from the Solicitor that all toll payers came under Category D status and therefore the process was considered to be legally sound, the Navigation Committee had recommended that the recommendations of the Selection Panel appointments be accepted.

Members concurred with the views of the Navigation Committee that improvements could be made to the selection process and that it would be helpful to have a common understanding of how the categories were interpreted. They therefore agreed that this area be reviewed but that this would need to be within the confines of the Act and the Government's guidance.

Members also supported the recommendations from the Navigation Committee relating to co-opted members.

RESOLVED

- that the recommendations of the Selection Panel be accepted and the following be appointed as Co-opted members to the Navigation Committee until the Authority's Meeting in March 2019:
 - Category A: James Knight (nominated by the BHBF and BMF)
 Michael Whitaker (nominated by the BHBF and BMF)
 - Category B: Nicky Talbot (nominated by the NSBA and RYA)
 - Category C: Brian Wilkins (nominated by the NSBA and RYA)
 - Category D: Linda Aspland and William Dickson
 - Category E: Max Heron (nominated by British Rowing and the Eastern Region Rowing Council)
 - Group F: Alan Goodchild
- (ii) that Mr Alan Goodchild and Mr Michael Whitaker be appointed to the Authority until 15 May 2015; and

- (iii) to support the suggestion that the appointment process be reviewed on the lines outlined within the report and that in due course a further report on the matter be prepared; and
- (iv) that the future appointment of the two co-opted members should be for a period of one year.

Mr Broad and Mr Ollier duly stepped down as Members of the Authority. Their places were taken by Mr Whitaker and Mr Goodchild as the newly coopted Members.

