

Broads Authority

28 July 2023 Agenda item number 16

Committee membership and member appointments

Report by Senior Governance Officer

Purpose

To seek approval for Broads Authority member appointments to committees and other bodies for the 2023/24 year.

Recommended decision

To confirm the Broads Authority member appointments for the 2023/24 year to:

- (i) the Audit and Risk Committee; Navigation Committee, Planning Committee and Broads Local Access Forum (table 1) and
- (ii) outside bodies (table 2).

1. Introduction

- 1.1. Members are appointed to committees and outside bodies for the forthcoming year at the Broads Authority's Annual Meeting in July. This year, the Authority is welcoming one new Secretary of State appointment and four new local authority appointments. As previously agreed by the Authority, the co-opted members of the Navigation Committee to the Authority are Peter Dixon and Alan Goodchild.
- 1.2. In accordance with the agreed procedure, members were invited to express their preferences, in advance of the Annual Meeting, for the committees and outside bodies on which they would like to serve. These preferences were reviewed by the Chairs' Group, taking into consideration the need for an appropriate balance of Local Authority and Secretary of State appointees, and enough members, on each committee and outside body, and to minimise the potential for conflicts of interest.

2. Appointments to committees

2.1. Table 1 sets out the recommendations of the Chair's Group for member appointments to the Authority's committees in 2023/24.

Table 1Recommended member appointments to committees - 2023/24

Committee	Members
Audit and Risk Committee At least 6 BA members, to include Chairs of BA and Navigation Committee	Chair of Broads Authority (tbc) Chair of Navigation Committee (Alan Goodchild) Tony Grayling Paul Hayden Tristram Hilborn Sian Limpenny Kevin Maguire Michael Scott Matthew Shardlow
Navigation Committee 5 BA members and 8 co-opted members	BA members Harry Blathwayt Stephen Bolt Leslie Mogford Greg Munford Michael Scott Co-opted members (appointed by BA on 17.3.23) Mark Collins Peter Dixon Alan Goodchild Bob Neate Remus Sawyerr Simon Sparrow Daniel Thwaites Paul Thomas
Planning Committee At least 11 BA members	Harry Blathwayt Stephen Bolt Bill Dickson Tony Grayling James Harvey Martyn Hooton Tim Jickells Kevin Maguire Leslie Mogford Keith Patience Vic Thomson Melanie Vigo di Gallidoro Fran Whymark

Committee	Members
Broads Local Access Forum	Harry Blathwayt
2 BA members	Peter Dixon

2.2. A proposal to establish a new Standards Committee to replace the current Hearings Committee (with an extended remit), in line with the recommendations from the independent review into the formal complaint, is due to be considered by the Broads Authority at its September meeting. Appointments to that committee will be made then. As such, there is little merit in making appointments to the current Hearings Committee as this will shortly cease to exist.

3. Appointments to outside bodies

- 3.1. Table 2 sets out the Chairs' Group recommendations for member appointments to outside bodies.
- 3.2. The Authority currently appoints Trustees to the How Hill Trust and Norfolk and Suffolk Broads Charitable Trust and appoints members to the Broadland Futures Initiative (Elected Members Forum); Broads Tourism and the Upper Thurne Working Group. The Authority's representation on these organisations has been reviewed and it was concluded that the organisation's interests on Broads Tourism were best served through officer representation (via the Head of Communications).
- 3.3. The Authority can also appoint up to half the total number of Trustees less one to the Whitlingham Charitable Trust. A new approach to this was agreed last year and a separate report on the agenda considers this in more detail.
- 3.4. Members are recommended to read the <u>Guidance for Authority members appointed to outside bodies</u> on how best to manage potential conflicts of interest when appointed to an outside body.
- 3.5. Members are also reminded of the decision made by the Authority at its meeting on 30 April 2021, when it was agreed that the most appropriate way for members to report on their activities of the outside bodies to which they had been appointed was to submit a brief written report, once or twice a year and this would be included on the next Authority agenda. In addition to the report, it is expected that significant issues would be reported as and when they arise.

Table 2Recommended appointments to outside bodies

Outside body	Recommended appointments
BFI Elected Members Forum	Matthew Shardlow
How Hill Trust	Tim Jickells

Outside body	Recommended appointments
Norfolk and Suffolk Broads Charitable Trust	Paul Hayden Martyn Hooton
Upper Thurne Working Group	Harry Blathwayt Stephen Bolt
Whitlingham Charitable Trust	see next item on agenda

Other appointments

- 3.6. The Authority's Chair represents the organisation at meetings of the 15 National Parks.
- 3.7. The Authority has a lead member for safety in line with the issue's critical importance and the requirements of the Port Marine Safety Code. The Chair of the Navigation Committee fulfils this role.
- 3.8. The Chair and Vice-Chair of the Planning Committee share the specific responsibilities as member appointees to the Greater Norwich Development Partnership, Norfolk Duty to Cooperate Member Forum and Norfolk Strategic Framework.
- 3.9. As agreed at the 2021 annual meeting, membership of the Heritage Asset Review Group (HARG) was extended to all members to allow the whole membership to be informed and engaged in cultural heritage matters. The purpose of this group is to advise on cultural heritage, including historic buildings and Conservation Areas, prior to any matters going to committee for consideration.

Author: Sara Utting

Date of report: 18 July 2023