

Member appointment structure

The Broads Authority has 21 members. The majority are elected to local authorities and appointed by those bodies to the Broads Authority, or are appointed by the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra). Two members are appointed from the Authority's Navigation Committee.

The Secretary of State appointees include at least three after consultation with representatives of boating interests, and at least two after consultation with representatives of landowning and farming interests. These members may be appointed for up to four years, which can be extended to a maximum of 10 years in total.

Table 1Appointing bodies to Broads Authority

Appointed by	Number of appointments
Norfolk County Council	2
Suffolk County Council	1
Broadland District Council	1
Great Yarmouth Borough Council	1
North Norfolk District Council	1
Norwich City Council	1
South Norfolk Council	1
East Suffolk Council	1
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs	10
Navigation Committee	2