New Chairman and Vice-Chairman elected for the Broads Authority

Bill Dickson has been elected as Chairman and Matthew Bradbury has been elected Vice Chairman for the Broads Authority following its annual meeting on 26 July 2019.

bill dickson

Bill, who resides next to the River Bure near Daisy Broad in Hoveton, is a keen sailor and has spent a large proportion of his life on the water in the Broads. For a number of years he worked in the construction industry before becoming a diplomat and moving abroad in a variety of countries and roles. 

He knows the Authority well, joining in 2015 as a member of the Navigation Committee before being appointed as member of the full Broads Authority in 2016 by the Secretary of State. He is also a member of the Planning Committee and Audit and Risk Committee.

Of his appointment as Chairman, Bill commented:

"I would like to thank all of you who have supported me by putting me in the Chair and I will do my very best to live up to the confidence you have placed in me. I am relishing the opportunity for us as members, staff and stakeholders to work together in positive spirit to act in the best interests of the Broads going forwards.

"It is an exciting time for the Authority and we have a number of new members who have joined us, each bringing their own expertise and perspectives which I am sure will provide a diverse range of knowledge to benefit the Broads. 

"I look forward to a rewarding and productive year ahead."

Bill takes over from outgoing Chairman Haydn Thirtle who had been in the position from July 2018. Haydn took over the role from Professor Jacquie Burgess, and was previously Vice Chairman of the Broads Authority. The Authority would like to thank Haydn for his significant contributions during his tenure both as a member and as Chairman.

Furthermore, Matthew Bradbury has replaced Bill in being elected Vice Chairman. Matthew has been a Secretary of State Appointee since 2015 and also sits on the Navigation Committee.

The annual meeting also introduced two new DEFRA Secretary of State Appointees (Tristram Holborn and Tim Jickells) and six new Local Authority Appointees (Andrée Gee, Fran Whymark, Harry Blathwayt, James Knight, Julie Brociek-Coulton and Leslie Mogford) to the Broads Authority.

We would like to warmly welcome the eight new members to the Broads Authority and wish Bill and Matthew well in their new roles.

For more information on our members and full contact details please visit the meet our members webpage.

Tuesday 30 July 2019