Conservation areas

Ellingham Mill

Conservation areas are places of special architectural or historic interest that need protecting.

If you live in a Conservation Area you may need planning permission before undertaking work such as:

  • altering a building
  • demolishing a building
  • felling a tree or removing branches

The Broads is lucky to have a large number of Conservation Areas which are kept under regular review. It also has more than 270 listed buildings including a number of important wind mills and wind pumps that have a deep association with the landscape. The designation offers control over demolition of buildings, extensions, cladding, roofs, garden buildings, satellite dishes and works to trees.

Conservation Area appraisals

Conservation Area Map of Conservation AreaDistrict
1. Beccles*Beccles map Waveney 
2. Belaugh Belaugh map Broadland

3. Bungay* (appendix)

Bungay map Waveney  
4. Coltishall & Horstead*Coltishall & Horstead map Broadland 
5. Ditchingham Dam Ditchingham Dam map South Norfolk
6. Ellingham Mill*Ellingham Mill map South Norfolk 
7. Geldeston* Geldeston map South Norfolk
8. Halvergate Marshes Halvergate Marshes map Great Yarmouth / Broadland / SNDC
9. Halvergate & Tunstall Halvergate & Tunstall map Broadland  
10. Horning* Horning map North Norfolk 
11. Langley Abbey*Langley Abbey map South Norfolk
12. Loddon & Chedgrave*Loddon & Chedgrave map South Norfolk 
13. Ludham* Ludham map North Norfolk 
14. Neatishead*Neatishead map North Norfolk
15. Norwich: Bracondale* Norwich: Bracondale map Norwich
16. Norwich: St Matthews* Norwich: St Matthews map Norwich 
17. Norwich: City Centre* Norwich: City Centre map Norwich 
18. Oulton Broad Oulton Broad map Waveney
19. Salhouse* Salhouse map Broadland
20. Somerleyton Somerleyton map Waveney 
21. Stalham Staithe*Stalham Staithe map North Norfolk 
22. Thorpe St Andrew*Thorpe St Andrew map Broadland
23. Trowse  Trowse map South Norfolk
24. West Somerton*West Somerton map Great Yarmouth
25. Wroxham* Wroxham map Broadland 

* partly in Broads Authority area - shared with neighbouring authority